Miracles In Small Towns

DSC06377

Bredasdorp

I am now in Bredasdorp a town of roughly 10,000 people. I’ve stayed here in this cozy and friendly town for the last 2 days going on 3 now. The reason for my delayed departure has to do with the fact that I haven’t been able to access my funds from my bank after my wallet was stolen back in Muizenberg. I’ve ordered a new card and figured out Paypal and Visa Direct transfer so all is good now. This was a blessing in disguise. You may be wondering why it has taken me so long to get this sorted. Well big towns are very far in between in South Africa especially going further north. Bredasdorp is one of the largest towns for within a 10 day radius (walking) until I reach Port Elizabeth thus everything needs to be done here before the next leg of my journey.

IMG_5972

People I have met

I’ve met an amazing family from Couchsurfing who’ve accomodated me in their homes and helped me figure out this banking situation. Eddie and his wife Dianna have helped me sort this matter, as complete strangers it is the nicest thing anyone could ever have done. I am so lucky to have met them, without their help it would have been a very sticky situation.

There have been others too of course, like Louis and Stephany October where I stayed at their beautiful farm up the mountains in Elim with the family. Louis has given me incredible advice on safety going further into this journey and his hospitality was more than gracious. He suggested I contact the police and ask if they keep an eye on me as they patrol the route i’m taking in case something happens or if I need help of any sort. I’m not sponsored with a safety team or have finaces to afford security, I’m incredibaly vonruble as a solo traveller walking across this vast continent.

To get here though (Cape L’Agulhas) was a monster trek from Elim to Cape L’Agulhas – the southernmost tip of Southern Africa. The walk mainly stretched through farmland and natural reserve parks. One park in particular that stretched for 20km was taken over by ostritches. Now i’ve never met an ostricth until that day. Not only did I see a flock of them but they apparently walked the whole length of the journey with me until they could no more. What a wild experience to have these curious and playful birds walk along with you.

Arrival to the Cape L’Agulhas

Once I made it into Cape L’Agulhas I felt a really relaxed and warm vibe from the people there. Mainly populated by white South Africans who speak Afrikaan. I stopped at the backpacker’s hostel called Cape Agulhas Backpackers. Everywhere I go I get tips from locals or other travelers of where to go next, so I spoke with a woman who has a youth group near East London that I will hope to work with the youth there. I’ll be in East London 8 days from now. I also met Tim a fellow German, my roommate for the night. We became friends instantly and ended up going to the Southernmost tip of South Africa the following afternoon after a wonderful night out on the beach looking up at the clearly lit Milky Way Galaxy.

 Southern Most Tip of Africa

Getting to the southern most tip of Southern Africa was completely worth it. The view, the smell and sensation was incredible. I went along with Tim from the backpackers to check it out. We stayed for hours taking in the sights, trekking along the rocky beach and taking pictures.

Safety and Security

Safety is now my main concern, I will be walking on open roads that span through slums, cities, towns and game reserves. Luckly due to Louis’s great tip. I ended up just walking into the police station with Dianne and spoke with CAPT. NJ Loubser. We pitched my expidtion to him and he was intrigued.  He ended up writing a 3 page letter to all the stations along my route all the way to Mozambique to inform police patrol units of my expedition and to keep an eye open. The captain has written and signed a paper of this. That way I can use this official paper to cross through reserves with permission and explain to farmers of my actions. What a great breakthrough after struggling for days to deal with the banks. My next plan is to – with the help of Eddie, my host – contact the mayor of Port Elizabeth and ultimately start getting some media coverage throughout South Africa as this will help validate me and help make my journey a lot easier to explain to people.

My route to Port Elizabeth

My next few walks will be very tough, there will be nothing in between far stretches of road but farmland. I don’t mind the long walks as they can be thereupeutic after meeting so many people but it is tough on the body for sure. 10 hours here 15 hours there. If you know anyone in the following areas where I can stay that would be wonderful help. Thank you. My next big write up may be in Goerge and Port Elizabeth.

  • Dec 16 – Bredasdorp to Ouplaas (45km)
  • Dec 17 – Ouplaas to Witsand (43km)
  • Dec 18 – Witsand to Jongensfontein (39km)
  • Dec 19 – Jongensfontein to Albertinia (39km)
  • Dec 20 – Albertinia to Boggoms Bay (41km)
  • Dec 21 – Boggoms Bay to Mossel Bay (32km)
  • Dec 22 – Mossel Bay to George/Wilderness (50km)
  • Dec 23 – Wilderness to Sedgefield (31km)
  • Dec 24 – Sedgefield to Brenton (25km)
  • Dec 25 – Brenton to Plettenberg (25km)
  • Dec 26 – Plettenberg to  Keurboomstrand (11km)
  • Dec 27 – Keurboomsttrand to Nature’s Valley (25km)
  • Dec 28 – Nature’s Valley to Stormsrivier (37km)
  • Dec 29 – Stormsrivier to Woodlands (28km)
  • Dec 30 – Woodlands to Oyster Bay (54km)
  • Dec 31 – Oyster Bay to Jeffrey’s Bay (35km)
  • Jan 1 – Jeffrey’s Bay to Woodbridge (39km)
  • Jan 2 – Woodbridge to Port Elizabeth (39km)
One response to “Miracles In Small Towns

Leave a Reply

